“Nudging”

I have been reading this evening, before I went to the pub, Chris Snowdon’s short book entitled ‘Killjoys’. I am about a third of the way through. You can read it here:

https://iea.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/Killjoys-final-PDF.pdf

I am very impressed so far. I do not intend to try to summarise Chris’s book at this time. I have not read it all. But some comment are worthwhile.

The idea of ‘nudging’ implies some sort of ‘push’, but not a ‘shove’. One could imagine someone saying, “I nudged my way through the crowd”. What does that mean? It means that “I” applied a little pressure physically to ‘the crowd’, probably with my shoulders, and individuals responded to the pressure by ‘giving way’. It is similar to saying, “Excuse me”. But imagine what would happen if you were in a queue and a person said, “Excuse me”, and you stood aside to let that person through, but that person joined the queue right in front of you. Would you not say, “Excuse me, but I would prefer that you join the queue behind me rather than in front of me”. That would be a polite way to say, “Get to the back of the queue, you cunt”.

The phrase “Excuse me” is has much the same effect as a physical nudge. In fact, you could say that there is no need to actually ‘nudge’ – all you have to do is say, “Excuse me”, and people will naturally give way.

The UK Gov a few years ago, under the premiership of that chancer, Cameron, created the ‘Nudge Unit’. I suppose that it still exists, even though ‘Public Health’ has usurped all its functions. But I suppose that the ‘Nudge Unit’ might still be pushing people aside by saying, “Excuse me”. Such ‘nudges’ could be applied to Brexit or anything else.

In England, we have a polite society on the whole, but we do not take kindly to being taken for granted. We rebel against being taken for granted. That is why Brexit occurred. Premier May is no doubt aware that a ‘fudge’ is not on the cards. Or is she? We do not know. A ‘fudge’ is much the same thing as a ‘nudge’.

There is a nastiness involved in ‘nudging’. It depends upon ignorance. Today, a perfect example occurred in my own life. My wife suffers from Multiple Sclerosis. Her legs do not work at all and she cannot urinate or poo normally. She spends most of her time in bed. The condition has got gradually worse and worse. But she is still ‘compos mentis’. Today, a district nurse said that she should not smoke in bed.

I don’t think that the nurse was deliberately ‘nudging’, although she might have been, but her comment was adequately dealt with when I said, “I don’t think that we should go there”.

But what on Earth made her mention ‘smoking’ at all? Our habits are A PRIVATE MATTER. They do not belong to the NHS. She might just as well have said that we should not engage in sexual activity (not that we do! – too old to be bothered). Such things are PRIVATE MATTERS. Our smoking activities are PRIVATE MATTERS.

So if anyone asks me, “Do you smoke?”, I can legitimately say, “That is a PRIVATE MATTER”. Further, if anyone asks me about my habits, I can legitimate lie to them. That puts me on a par with ASH ET AL and the WHO.

Little has been said, in studies and such, about PRIVATE MATTERS. It is as though every aspect of our activities and our thoughts are lawfully viewable. They are not. It is quite doubtful that people can be legitimately tricked into answering surveys which do not reveal the purpose of the survey. And vague reasons are not sufficient.

All the above thinking has come from reading only a third of Chris Snowdon’s book!

But there is a MASSIVE problem. That problem is politicians. “Forgive them, Father, for they do not know what they do” comes to mind. But these people are supposed to be the Elite of the Elite – aren’t they? If they are not, why are they in Parliament? It is scary that politicians are not ‘The Elite’ in terms of wisdom. In other words, why is that ‘The Intellectual Elite’ cannot be elected to Parliament? What is wrong with them?

Perhaps they are ‘not all there’.

9 Responses to ““Nudging””

  1. Rose Says:

    But these people are supposed to be the Elite of the Elite – aren’t they? If they are not, why are they in Parliament?

    Because we don’t want the job.

    • junican Says:

      Ha! Oh, by the way, I tried the twiglets both out and in. Going out, it was only on the aircraft, but coming back, it was also in the airport. It is not easy to measure something that you DID NOT feel. I DID NOT feel any cravings for a cig, but I am not sure that that was because of the twiglets. It may be because I am used to not bothering in those circumstances.
      But what IS true is that I did not suffer any cravings. I have several packets of twiglets left. I shall keep them until next Easter.

      • Rose Says:

        I am glad to hear it.
        I’ll agree that eight hours a day for two weeks was a more convincing experiment, but we do what we can with the opportunities that present themselves.

        Thank you for trying it.

      • junican Says:

        Rose, don’t think that I regarded the experiment as trivial. I would not even have bothered if that was the case. No…. All I am saying is that the circumstances were not ideal. A real test would come in a situation where you were desperate for a cig. and where you were not already acclimatised to doing without. Certainly, it would be great to have a fall-back way to defeat the the effects of TC.

      • Rose Says:

        If you had no desire for a cigarette because of the Twiglets, I’ll agree that your experiment was not trivial and airports are stressful places.

        I suppose accompanying someone to A&E for the several hour wait and the resulting constant stress would be another good experiment, but I wouldn’t wish that on anyone.

  2. garyk30 Says:

    In their ‘brave new World’, we all belong to their society.
    There can be no private belongings of any type, including thoughts.

  3. Timothy Goodacre Says:

    Of course Cameron turned out to be a keen smoker despite foisting plain packs on us. No doubt he does the same as those who can afford it do, import your cigs from more enlightened countries !

    • junican Says:

      Indeed he is a smoker. Could it be partly because of that that he so quickly gave up the Premiership? Maybe he was pissed off by constantly having to be careful. I would not blame him. But I agree that it was a most cowardly act to succumb to the Zealots re PP.

Comments are closed.


