Voting for Persecution

I am coming around to the idea that I should not vote in any elections. I do not like that thought, but I see no alternative. How can a differentiate between one candidate who is happy to persecute smokers and another?

As has been pointed out on many occasions, the vast majority of MPs voted in favour of the smoking ban. Most of those MPs were dismissed as a result of the expenses scandal and many just lost their seats. They voted to persecute smokers and then walked off with their pensions and CVs.

The persecution of smokers is not a light matter. It is indeed a very serious matter. And yet, in 2006, passing-through MPs, claiming false expenses, with little or no thought of the cost of Tobacco Control, voted to enable the vast costs of Tobacco Control.

The situation in the last few years is almost surreal. We have Cameron  pictured being hugged by a Corben lover with Cameron pictured with a cigarette in is hand. Cameron was the guy who forced Plain Packaging through Parliament.

There is only one sensible way to behave – do not vote. As a smoker, whoever you vote for wishes to persecute you even more. Do not vote. That is not the same as the Brexit vote. I mean do not vote in local or national elections. The point is that whoever gains the majority is said to represent all the People. They do not, if they promote persecution.

And is that not the crux? In 2006, the vast majority of MPs, of whatever Party, voted to persecute smokers. They ensured success by voting to make publicans responsible for forcing anyone who who lit a cig indoors to be forcibly ejected from the pub. There was no excuse for not doing so. It still amazes me that the Publican’s Assn did not object strenuously to being forced to be unpaid policemen.

I have a feeling that we must enter into ‘the dark ages’. We have to ‘go underground’.  I am not quite sure how it can be done. It involves minimising costs, absolutely especially taxation. I would rather pay the same cost, without taxation, than contribute to our persecutors.

How can you trust politicians who voted for smoking bans, sugar bans, salt bans, obesity bans, etc, to be stronger than the EU Elite?

4 Responses to “Voting for Persecution”

  1. Timothy Goodacre Says:

    None of them can be trusted now Junican. They are nasty anti libertarian bullies. Smuggling of tobacco from more enlightened countries must be encouraged. Judging by the amount of foreign packs i see on the ground many people feel the same. Why pay stupid taxes just to be bullied by the likes of Arnott, PHE, their puritan doctor chums, and our weak nanny state politicians !

    • junican Says:

      I do not like the word ‘smuggling’. It is a nasty word. I much prefer ‘importing’.
      Smoking prevalence figures become more and more unreliable every day.

  2. beobrigitte Says:

    I have a feeling that we must enter into ‘the dark ages’. We have to ‘go underground’. I am not quite sure how it can be done. It involves minimising costs, absolutely especially taxation. I would rather pay the same cost, without taxation, than contribute to our persecutors.
    I do agree, I am NOT paying the current UK tobacco tax. I pay for my tobacco when I travel, so I’m adding to Deborah Arnott’s screeching “It works!! Tobacco sales in the UK are going down”.

    One fine day she’ll notice she has been had.

    How can you trust politicians who voted for smoking bans, sugar bans, salt bans, obesity bans, etc, to be stronger than the EU Elite?
    By now I’ve come to think that Brexit is irrelevant when it comes to UK laws. The anti-smokers still continue to dictate. Even UKIP caved in. Remember the eager UKIP person who commented on Frank’s blog that the missing smoking amendment in the manifesto would have to wait until AFTER the election?

    Perhaps we should all vote for lobby groups?

    • junican Says:

      Arnott has not been had. She know the score. She is just another amoral enabler. “Just doing my job”, said the Nazi guard as he pushed people into the gas chambers.

Comments are closed.


