Persevering

“Keep on keeping on”.

Dylan Thomas:

“Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

We say:

“Keep on keeping on”

Old men and old women have seen a lot. They have seen Governments come and go, but not much changes. We have see the emergence of telephones, Radio, and TV. Not much changes.

The ‘human condition’ remains the same. We can be miserable or happy; we can be unhealthy or healthy; we can be slim or fat; we can be rich or poor. None of those conditions change our nature.

“Everybody’s looking for something….”

It is in our nature to investigate and try things and see what happens. That is our nature.

I do not understand ‘Tobacco Control’ at all. It seems to me to be the antipathy of human nature. When Hillary and Tensing climbed Everest, they did so for no other reason than to show that it could be done – that human beings could do it. The same applies to the Moon landings – to show that it could be done. If there are subsequent benefits, such as mining the Moon for rare metals, etc, that might happen in due course, but the first thing that must happen is showing that it is possible to get there.

TC is entirely negative. It aims, and has largely succeeded, to eliminate experimentation. It is largely impossible for new, and relatively harmless, tobacco products to enter the market – unless the come from ‘BIG TOBACCO’. In other words, ANTI-BIG TOBACCO has sheltered and protected REALLY BIG TOBACCO.

It is all quite comical, but it is perverse that BIG GOVERNMENT has facilitated the rise of PURITANISM whilst being HEDONISTIC itself.

And there lies the meaning of Dylan Thomas’s poem.

Don’t let the bastards grind you down.

 

4 Responses to “Persevering”

  1. elenamitchell Says:

    Some of us are born optimists and some of us aren’t. I thank what ever God there might be that I am one. And it is pure chance you know.
    But since I don’t hold out much hope for an afterlife, I am not considering going anywhere else at the moment, if ever. So someone is going to have to drag me off kicking and screaming while I smoke my last fag.
    I just hope I don’t set fire to my death bed, although, on reflection that could save my children a few bob.
    Something good ever comes from apparent disasters.

  2. Timothy Goodacre Says:

    We won’t Junican. Keep enjoying the tobacco eh !

  3. garyk30 Says:

    Old age is trying.
    When younger,I thought that I knew quite a lot.

    As I have gotten older and learned more and more, I find that there is more,abou everything, to learn.

    The more I learn, the less I know!

    Very frustrating.

Leave a Comment

