Are Smokers so Addicted That They Will Pay Any Price for Cigs?

You would have to be really, really desperate to pay £5 for a cig (in terms of inflationary values today). At what point of cost would a smoker decide to stop smoking?

I personally had that experience when I became married and, somehow, became Dad to three daughters. My lifestyle gradually changed from a carefree sexual hedonist to a Dad. There is always a delay.

At a point in time, given some stretching of that point, I decided to give up smoking. What were my motivations at the time? It is very hard to remember. There was a lot of ‘noise’ about ‘harm’ and breathlessness. Nothing as serious as cancer. But, there again, the word ‘CANCER’ was verboten. It is quite comical how The Zealots overcame the reluctance of the MSM to talk about cancer. They did it by, somehow or other, getting a very short report about how ‘cancer’ could be cured within the next two years or so. Of course, those cures have NEVER actually happened. The objective was to bring CANCER out of limbo.

I know that I stopped smoking for a year. I remember the ‘Slough of Despond’ which hit me – the ‘black hole of despond’. I cannot pretend otherwise than that  stopping smoking was painful.

The ‘pain’ lasted for about three days before it began to abate – only three days. After that, it became much easier to say, “No thank you” when someone offered you a cig in the pub. But the temptation was always there.

It is just a simple matter of fact that I was able to buy my first car after six months of stopping smoking. I am not sure that the two things are connected. EG, I may have had a good pay-rise. I cannot remember. But I started smoking again almost exactly after one year of ‘personal prohibition’. It is hard to describe how wonderful that first cig after twelve months was. Yes, it made me a bit dizzy, but, somehow, lots of tensions fell away.

Being ‘tension’ is not a feeling that is often talked about, and yet it is a real psychological problem. Would not we all be better off if we did not have ‘tensions’ to worry us?

A la ‘ASH ET AL’, “It is extremely worrying that millions of smokers are in a state of tension. That tension is bound to affect their health. They should not be tense. We are State funded anti-tobacco smoking puritans, but we recognise that ‘tension’ is dangerous. We therefore recommend that smokers should consider ecigs as an alternative to smoking”.

As regards my Heading, the question is redundant since THE SUPPLY will not dry up until the DEMAND dries up.

 

6 Responses to “Are Smokers so Addicted That They Will Pay Any Price for Cigs?”

  1. cherie79 Says:

    Since I stopped buying tobacco and cigarettes in this country when the ban came in it’s hard to tell at what price I would have refused to buy. Even though I could afford it my objection would have been to the ridiculous taxation on smokers so only if I was unable to buy abroad I guess I would have gone without rather than pay this extortion but I suspect it would have led to my ‘premature’ death from stress.

    • junican Says:

      Well, Yes, cherie, but that is what TC want you to do – pack up smoking because of the cost. That is persecution, and has nothing to do with health. It is the attainment of targets.

  2. inisfad Says:

    Your ‘3 day’ time line is actually somewhat scientific, as it apparently takes only 3 days for nicotine to go out of your system. From that point on, it is not the ‘addiction’ to nicotine that is the driver of missing smoking, but the behavior pattern of doing something with your hands, the oral fixation (which, of course, leads to the weight gain), etc., etc. It probably goes even further than that, as somewhere, psychologically, you actually identify yourself as a smoker or non-smoker. It’s somewhat of a complex psychology. I stopped smoking for 2-1/2 years, and spent much of that time saying ‘no’ to people offering me cigarettes. Finally, I took one, which opened the door to the idea that I could have one now and again, etc. I think we all go through the same pattern, if we start again – a cigarette now and then, not buying but grubbing from others and then finally, stepping over that line and buying a pack of cigs.

    • junican Says:

      Very true, inisfad. I too have stopped smoking from time to time, the longest period being a year. Like you, I was offered a cig on New Years Eve after a year ‘on the wagon’. That first cig was wonderful! Yes, there are all sorts of ‘triggers’, one of which I am experiencing as I write this. It is ‘the pause’ as you think about what you are writing.

  3. buckothemoose Says:

    Me and Mrs Bucko very occasionally buy tobacco in the UK, but only after a serious lack of planning ahead with out foreign tobacco purchases. At any given time, we usually have at least two months worth of tobacco locked away at home
    If we could only buy from the UK, we wouldn’t do it. Not just because we couldn’t afford it, but also because we wouldn’t want to give all that money to an undeserving governement

    • junican Says:

      Last year, I had to cancel a trip to Spain because herself was unwell. I had to buy cigs at full price. That hurt, but not because of the cost. It was the humiliation of being forced to slap myself across the face. I now have a big stock of stuff to ensure that the humiliation does not happen again in the immediate future.

Comments are closed.


