‘Genetic Construction’

Neighbours are having an extension build. From time to time, I pass their house and see what progress is being made. The builders are now installing the roof timbers, having done most of the brickwork. No doubt a considerable amount of detailed planning has preceded the actual construction, but nothing really, really complicated. The drawing up of the plans for such a small construction would have been childs-play for any professional architect. Even so, those plans and quantifications must be done. No one these days throws up even a shed without detailed plans and, possibly, local authority permission. I well remember my Dad and my uncle throwing up a shed in our backyard when I was little. They used planks of wood and six-inch nails. I think that they built it in half a day. But it was never designed to last forever – it was just a shed. Both were miners and the shed was built shortly after the end of WW2, so it is quite possible that the materials, the wood, came from WW2 mining projects which ceased to be necessary once WW2 ended. Certainly, I remember that the whole thing was built with a lot of jollity and banging and thumping. Foundations? You must be joking! a few bricks at each corner. I dare say that the roof was covered with some sort of waterproof membrane, but such detail is beyond my memory. Bang, Bang! Thump, Thump! is my memory.

Anyway, it seems to me that the human body has been constructed in a similar way. It is very remarkable that a huge tobacco plant grows from such a tiny seed. I have lupin seeds, and those plants grow quite tall, as compared with, say, marigolds. Lupin seeds are big. Tobacco plant seeds are tiny – around half a millimetre, or less. And yet they produce very big plants – up to or around 2½ metres. The lower leaves can be up to a metre long and some 60 cm wide.

But they are annuals. In our climate, the dropped seeds die in our winter conditions. That is generally true, but there are isolated pockets, I believe, where tobacco plants in this country, self-seed and and survive. I have no confirmation of that as a fact. Sheltered places near streams in the South of England is where tobacco plants have been found growing wild.

Every one of us, when we are conceived, have a genetic construction plan in our genes. Ocasionally, things go massively wrong, and a foetus is naturally aborted. But sometimes things are not so bad as to require that the woman’s body aborts. Thus, babies with genetic abnormalies are born. These things happen, and no one should be surprised.

But abnormalities, in the sense of, say, ‘dwarfism’, is not my point. ALL of us are genetically different. Some of us have blue eyes, some green, and some brown, or, in many cases, combinations of colours. Some are tall and some are short; some are ‘thick-set’ and some are slim.

Why should such genetic traits not affect the ‘life-time’ of organs of the body?

I must admit that I am out of my depth. There may well have been studies. But I remember reading about cromasomes having a certain ‘length’. As the years pass, a human body loses ‘length’ in the cromasomes, so that reproduction of essential cells might falter.

That is why we age. Our genes are a construction plan which dictates how our bodies grow and survive for a time, but they degenerate after X decades. The cromasomes stop creating essential cells – and we shrink away and die. I like the word ‘shrink’ in this context. The cromasomes ‘shrink’; our hair goes grey, our skin wrinkles, our muscles lose flexibility, our bones become brittle, our brains degenenerate.

But we do not see it. Medical professional have different names for each and every manifestation of our genetic deterioration. Frankly, I think that they know about it very well, but it suits them to bury it.

The human body is not a construction such as a house. It is more akin to a swirling whirlpool. It is changing all the time.

Sooner or later, for every human being, an essential organ will stop working. That body will cease to be alive. It is as simple as that. What happens to ‘the person’ is a different question.

So all the ‘studies’, such as Doll’s ‘Doctors Study’, have to take the ‘genetic construction’ into account. And that is their major failing, since they cannot do so. I am 77 years old and am pretty fit; I have smoked since I was about 17 with very rare breaks. I have also drank alcohol a lot, and I have ate whatever I want to. But I am still slim built. That is my personal ‘genetic construction’.

Tobacco Control has completely distorted evidence by ignoring ‘genetic construction’ as though the human body is not designed to die. It IS designed to die.

There is nothing that TC can do to alter that design.

Eat, drink and be merry. TC demands that you count calories, avoid alcohol and be miserable.

Suit yourself.


