Where is ‘Home’?

I wasn’t going to post tonight, but the thought occurred to me. If a person come to the UK from Poland to work, does that person consider himself to still regard Poland as his ‘home’. That idea is a bit weird, since not all of Poland would be his ‘home’.

So, apart from the actual house where a person lived, how can we interpret the idea of ‘home’?

We expect ‘home’ to be ‘our own place’. I had no rights of ownership of my parents’ house, but it was ‘home’. But ownership of the building was of no significance as regards ‘home’. Even though I had no rights of ownership to that building, it was still ‘home’.

I saw an official video from Australia. It said, clearly, that illegal immigrants into Australia will never be able to claim that Australia is their ‘home’. But they do not have to do so, do they? If they can obtain a place of shelter, that place will be their home. The fact that their ‘home’ is in Australia, rather than Indonesia, is neither here nor their, from their point of view. ‘Home’ is the actual three dimensional bit of space which you have exclusive use of.

The Country of England is not my ‘home’, but a tiny area of England is the site of the three dimensional habitation which is my ‘home’.

Having said that, and made it clear, England is my ‘homeland’. England is the area of land where my three dimensional ‘home’ is situated. I am pleased about that because it would be very difficult for a stranger to dispossess me, because of our laws about ownership of areas of land and the buildings thereon. But that place would still be my ‘home’, even if I did not own it.

The consequence is that that the refugees set up ‘homes’ of one sort or another. They do so themselves to some extent by just sitting down in an area of land. The authorities then provide them with tents, water and food. Thus, they create ‘homes’.

But are those places their ‘homelands’? There is the rub. They are not. Why? Because those people are not citizens. A citizen of Syria is still a citizen of Syria, even if he has made his way to Germany. It follows that such a person cannot get an EU passport. It is not possible.

But the EU Elite want to share out the number of jihadis around the whole EU. It is not difficult to see the reasoning. After all,  a few dozen murders are not the same as thousands of deaths in WW1 and WW2. It is the WW deaths which are important, and not the occasional atrocity.

I shall shut up for tonight. These ideas need more thought.

2 Responses to “Where is ‘Home’?”

  1. elenamitchell Says:

    England is my Homeland, but it isn’t where I live, or even where I want to live.
    I have sat here for more than twenty years and gasped in amazement and horror at what is going on, perhaps because my life here is so utterly rural. Paris could well be as bad as London or Plymouth. I simply don’t know anymore.
    But none of this affects my love of the home of my birth, colossal accident though it was.
    However, France has done so much to restore my faith in humanity, which I had lost when I left England.

    • junican Says:

      Your move from England to rural France is very unusual. There must have been very good reasons for that move in the first place. For the most part, life in England goes on much as it always has. The manic zealots in tobacco control have changed nothing, but pliable politicians have swallowed the propaganda. I do not understand why. I do not understand, for example, why statistics produced by tobacco control were not authenticated by dispassionate statisticians. The same applies to global warming.

      Do not think that the Zealots have succeeded. They have not succeeded in changing the nature of the people. They pretend to have. They will fail eventually. .

Comments are closed.


