Drinking Whisky

I think that this post might wake Legiron up.

Note the spelling of Whisky. I understand that that spelling is Scottish, and that the spelling ‘whiskey’ is Irish.

The bottle that I have to hand is a bottle of Scotch called Talisker. It is a ten year aged single malt. The daughters bought for me as a Fathers Day presie. The taste is a bit peculiar. It is terribly difficult to describe, as are all tastes. We seem to be unable to describe tastes without reference to some known taste. So how can I describe the taste?

First, there is the bite of 46% alcohol. That is not really a taste – it is a sort of burning sensation. There is some sweetness, but there is another factor. I have heard the word ‘peaty’, but I have no idea what peat tastes like. Let us use our imagination.

Suppose that you were desperately hungry and you found or dug up a potato. You sank your teeth into the potato, chewed the flesh and swallowed it. I can imagine a ‘peaty’ taste being something like the taste of that potato. It would not be sweet and not be bitter, but it would not be unpleasant if you were hungry enough. There is something of that sort of taste to Talisker. Behind the bite of the alcohol and the sweetness, is a ‘raw potato’ taste. The interesting thing is that the combination of tastes is very pleasant.

But what is interesting is my method of indulging. I take a couple of sips from the bottle daily. Is that terribly uncouth? I let the spirit roll around my mouth before swallowing. I let the taste buds absorb all the tastes of the whisky. I find that method perfectly satisfying.

What is of the greatest importance is that one should not dilute single malts IN ANY WAY WHATSOEVER, other than, possibly, with water. It is a SIN to add, say, coca cola to malt whisky.

There ought be a SIN TAX applied whenever a tourist in Scotland orders a single malt and a coke at the same time. That SIN TAX could be around 900% of the original cost. It would be the cost of stupidity.

Is there some sort of desperation in the call for Minimum Unit Pricing by the SNP? They seem to be going on and on about it. Is it true that the majority of Scots are puritans? Or is it that there are lots of people who are censorious? It is natural to be censorious. All human beings are primed to be censorious. We cannot help it. It is in our nature. It comes from uniting the tribe. A tribe divided cannot defend itself.

There ought not to have been reasons for Brexit. The fact is that there was a headlong rush to ‘Unionisation’ in the EU, not dissimilar to Trade Unionisation. The difference between the two is that there was justification for Trade Unionism, but no justification for European Unionisation. No politician actually read the thousand page treaties.

Who did? They are the people who betrayed the UK. But the situation has been deliberately complicated to such an extent that it is impossible to unravel the mess. The PM, Theresa May, the Foreign Sec, Boris Johnson, and the Brexit Sec, David Davis, must recognise and condemn the Machiavellian methods.

Will they do that? I do not know, nor can I assess what needs to be done. Brexit will only become concrete when we withdraw our MEPs, and withdraw from the Council of Ministers, and withdraw from all the other institutions, and stop the funding. Until then, we are still in the EU.

3 Responses to “Drinking Whisky”

  1. Samuel Says:

    Talisker is nice. A it light but spicy. I developed a taste fro Laphroaig but most people find it too smoky. You might like The Balvenie Doublewood. It’s twelve years old and spends several of those years in used sherry casks. It has the typical, strong and peaty, taste of a good scotch but blossoms after a bit with the afterthought of the sherry that also deepens its color.
    Any whiskey worth drinking should be neat or broken only with clean water or ice (in most cases not with tap water). Bourbons gain their distinct qualities from the spring water they’re made with. Those springs flow through limestone and lend a mineral quality not easily duplicated. If the spirits are only fit for Coke or some other sugary swill then they aren’t worth pouring in your glass with one exception: Zubrowka. Polish potato vodka infused with bison grass. Strangely it mixes well with apple juice. But it’s still better with plain water.

  2. nisakiman Says:

    It is a SIN to add, say, coca cola to malt whisky.

    Many years ago, back in the early eighties, I worked as a cocktail barman in a busy bar in London, and I remember being castigated by management for refusing to serve a woman who had ordered a Remy Martin VSOP Brandy with coke and ice.

    I told her that to mix a VSOP with coke was a mortal sin, but I would happily serve her a cooking brandy and coke. It would taste just as good, and it would cost considerably less. Needless to say, she went ballistic and complained to the manager, who fortunately agreed with me, but also was tasked with keeping the customers happy and the shekels rolling in.

    As I’ve grown older, I’ve realised that even if you are a purist, sometimes it’s better to keep that attitude to yourself.

    Yes, Talisker is one of my more favoured whiskies, as is Laphroaig. I’m not really a whisky drinker, but I will make an exception for a good malt.

  3. junican Says:

    I bow to your superior knowledge, Sam and Nisak. I remember going golfing in Scotland several years ago where we tried a different malt every evening. Needless to say, I remember nothing.

Comments are closed.


