Why Do Smokers Not Support Each Other?

An interesting thought, do you not think?

From time to time, I have been shocked, and I do mean shocked, when exchanging a few words with another smoker outside the pub.

Me: “It’s a damned nuisance having to come outside, don’t you think?”

Him/Her:”Oh, I don’t know. Maybe it’s a good thing”

Me: “But don’t you think that the smoking ban has emptied the pubs?”

Him/Her: “Oh, I don’t think so”

He/She drops half-smoked cig on floor and squashes it, and disappears inside.


I find such above brief conversations incredibly sad. Such people have succumbed to the brainwashing. Why they are in pubs, drinking ‘alcoholic beverages’, and feeling guilty about enjoying a cig, but not feeling guilty about drinking ‘alcoholic beverages’, is beyond my comprehension.

The Zealots have demonised cigs and smokers, and now intend to demonise beer, wine, etc under the general heading of ‘alcohol’, and render drinkers of those beverages as ‘sinners’, just as smokers have been rendered.

What happens, over a period of time, is that drinkers accept that they are ‘sinners’.

===

The odd thing is that there is no middle ground. That is very odd. And it is totally unscientific. That lack of ‘compromise’ is based upon a form of superstition. “There is no safe level of second hand smoke” is superstition.

===

People enjoy inhaling pleasant substances. That fact must be known to ‘scientists’. We experience it every day. Every time that we experience the smell of freshly brewed coffee, we enjoy it because we inhale the molecules released by the cooking process. Even making a cup of tea is ‘cooking’ because it requires heat. Only drinking cold drinks and eating cold food is not ‘cooking’, but even those substances release molecules or smells, which are inhaled. It is hard to see how you can smell something and not inhale the substance which you have sniffed. In fact, has not TC, again and again, said, “If you can smell it, it is harming you”?

The problem is that ‘Regulation’ is always one way. It is, by definition, NEGATIVE! It can never be POSITIVE! It may be that the negative effects of regulation have benefits, but it is almost inevitable that there will be confusion.

===

Why do smokers not support each other? The simple answer is that smokers have been ‘brainwashed’, a bit at a time, for decades,  to  despise themselves. TO DESPISE THEMSELVES. Can you see the importance of that? What could be worse for a person’s ‘wellbeing” than to despise himself? “I enjoy tobacco, and therefore I am despicable”.

That is why smokers cannot support each other. They have been taught to despise each other. I step outside the pub to have a cig. You also step outside. I despise you because you are so weak.

===

It really is weird that there is only the token defence of smokers via ‘Forest’. Simon Clark tries his best. Imagine, however, if there was a million strong group of smokers who stated, without doubt, that they would STOP BUYING TAXED TOBACCO PRODUCTS. The mind boggles at the consequences.

For that is the only way ahead. We have learned that ‘The Industry’ does not give a shit about its customers. The Tobacco Industry has only tried to defend itself and its profits.

===

But there is another aspect.

At what point will the aggression against tobacco in any form become too expensive? We have seen this before in the USA, where tobacco and alcohol prohibition produced a free, but dangerous, market in alcohol and tobacco.

It is always the case that ‘brainwashing’ produces a violent response eventually. By ‘violent’, I mean ‘very strong’, which may or may not involve physical violence.

Whatever the intricacies, sooner or later, THE PEOPLE must dislodge the useless career politicians.

16 Responses to “Why Do Smokers Not Support Each Other?”

  1. Smoking Lamp Says:

    I have had the same conversation you recount in front of office buildings, outside of bars and pubs, and in front of airports worldwide. I am surprised that smokers have been so neutered that we don’t wage mass resistance. After all at least 20-30% of citizens worldwide are still smokers (even if we don’t acknowledge it on surveys fro fear of further oppression). The antismoker bureaucracy is collapsing slowly due to its own lies. If smokers pushed back just a bit the tyranny would collapse.

    • junican Says:

      You have highlighted the problem, but it is not a matter of will to push back – it is that there is no WAY for us to push back. We are a ten million strong army which has no weapons, no generals, no money, no organisation. That is what bothers me so much about tobacco companies. The weird thing is that the alcohol and food industries are behaving in exactly the same way, even though they have seen what has been going on with tobacco.

  2. Roberto Says:

    It is very sad, but the conversations that you recount are common world round. My typical response is to ask “why do you smoke if you think it’s so bad for you?”. A frequent response is “I don’t have the will power to quit”, which shows to what degree smokers believe the weak willed “addict” caricature that zealots have made of smokers after decades of propaganda and brain washing. I tell acquaintances and friends who quit smoking two things: (1) quit only if you want to quit not because you are forced or pressed or black mailed and (2) please don’t become an anti-smoker zealot (as many former smokers do). People quitting does not affect me and will not change a iota my smoking habits, but a recent incident really enraged me: a good friend with whom I enjoyed smoking outdoors in social gatherings told me he stopped smoking after he could not take any more the pressure (or rather black mail) from his teenage daughters, themselves encouraged to act this way by one of their teachers (of course “for his own good”). This is Nanny State at work: quietly and under the scenes “de-normalizing” all “unhealthy” social behavior. Overweight people face similar level of self imposed stigma as smokers. Hopefully, some day the Nanny State and all its useful idiots will get the kick in the ass that they deserve.

    • Rose Says:

      Behind the Headlines: Is diabetes linked to quitting smoking?

      “Quitters face an almost doubled risk of developing diabetes in their first three smoke-free years.
      Researchers from Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, studied 10,892 adult smokers, none of whom had diabetes at the start of the study.

      The participants were studied for nine years during which time, 1,254 developed type-2 diabetes.

      In the first three years after giving up, new quitters were 91 per cent more likely to develop diabetes. This decreased over time and after 12 years quitters had no excess risk.”
      http://www.gponline.com/behind-headlines-diabetes-linked-quitting-smoking/article/976970

      Increased Bodyweight After Stopping Smoking May Be Due to Changes in Insulin Secretion

      “The reasons for this weight gain are believed to be in part due to metabolic changes in the body, but until now precise details of these changes were not known.”
      http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2012/05/120507210042.htm

      No child of mine would talk me into getting diabetes type 2, no matter how well meaning they might be.

      • junican Says:

        My daughters know better than to try to influence me. Maybe seeing their mother stricken down by multiple sclerosis has made them realise that her pleasure from smoking is of more importance that her health. I smoke when the grandchildren and even the great grandchildren are around.
        But I suspect that they know that any pressure that they put on me would be greeted with the response, “Damn! I thought that I had brought you up to be clever and intelligent. Where did I go wrong?”

  3. Timothy Goodacre Says:

    Very good points Junican ! Certainly the industry doesn’t give a shit about its customers. I sent an email to the Tobacco Manufacturers Alliance asking what cig brands would be available after Plain Packaging. They didnt bother to reply. We smokers should mobilise. The State needs our money. Imagine buying a food product which doesnt even tell you what is in it. You dont even know what tobacco is in each brand. I’m proud to enjoy tobacco. I love my Oriental tobacco and i love to see a glamorous woman smoking. Any of the Marlene Dietrich films of the 1930’s do it for me ! Be proud i say and stand out from the bland zealots !

    • junican Says:

      I agree, but see my reply to SL above. Look around on-line and take a three day trip to Prague or somewhere and stock up on your Oriental.

  4. garyk30 Says:

    To a certain extent, smokers are rebelling and buying off market cigs.
    The govt has noticed:
    They also cost the UK economy more than £2 billion a year In unpaid taxes.

    Of course, that is 2 billion going into the economy instead of to the govt to be wasted on pet projects of the politicians.

    Unsaid is the idea that the govt has more right to your money than you do.

    • junican Says:

      “They also cost the UK economy more than £2 billion a year In unpaid taxes.”
      Erm…. No they don’t! The costs of Government remain the same. To the extent that, one way or another, smokers avoid buying taxed cigs, non-smokers have to contribute more, which is only fair. I like that. They are paying their fair share rather than robbing smokers.

  5. Tony Says:

    I posted this comment on Simon Clark’s blog. I hope you don’t mind me copying it here. I think it gets to the heart of the psychological issue here.

    My advice is to never, ever, even consider giving up smoking. It only encourages them and is as barmy as signing a pledge that alcohol will never pass your lips for as long as you live.

    Instead, if you feel like a smoke then have one and if not then don’t. Simples.

    Gain and retain control of your own life. “

    People tend to believe that they are addicted because they’ve been told that they are so often. The ‘addiction’ claim itself is perhaps the biggest anti-smoking lie of all.

    Once people are brainwashed into thinking in terms of “signing the pledge”, they tend to see it as something they will have to do at some point. So every time they think about the issue, they’ll tend to put it off again and again. And as they do so, a creeping guilt begins to gnaw at them. Over time this turns to a sense of shame and eventually, even to self loathing.

    This self loathing soon gets projected outward onto other smokers. Hence, ex-smokers tend to be the worst anti-smokers of all.

    This psychological trick of inducing guilt and shame has been used by zealots of all types (religious, moral etc) throughout history and no doubt in prehistory too.

    • junican Says:

      I saw your comment, I think. I agree.
      I used to drink quite a lot of coffee at home. A few years ago, after a visit to Spain where I drank much more pleasurable coffee, I decided that I did not like Nescafe very much, and so I stopped drinking coffee at home. I drink tea. I like tea. It was a personal decision which is of no importance whatsoever to anyone other than me.
      The idea of ‘signing a pledge’ is pathetic. It is a throw-back to infantile temperance ideas. But what else are ‘smoking cessation clinics’ other than ‘pledge centres’?

      ‘Guilt’. Yes. I have something to say about that.

  6. elenamitchell Says:

    Bars are closing wholesale here in Rural Brittany. Four in my immediate vicinity.
    One still survives, but that’s a Bar Tabac. Oh the irony.

    And it was all such a nice community where everyone communicated.

    I went to a local Fete last week where I saw neighbours that I hadn’t spoken to for yonks. Mostly puffing away, inside and out. No tobacco nazis were present. Probably because they would have been lynched.

    • junican Says:

      A sad situation. What you say suggests that people are just staying home. How can you blame them? Why should they go to bars and spend money while feeling guilty all the time?
      All Governments everywhere have been infected.

      • elenamitchell Says:

        The big joke is that the previous Bar owner smoked frequently while he was serving behind the Bar. But no one else was allowed to. I did ask. Sauce for the goose, and all that. But I was told, No.

        But they do have a fairly pleasant awning and tables outside. Fine in Summer. But you get out of the habit by the time Winter is over.

        I now buy my cigarettes where ever it pleases me. The sense of loyalty to the local community has been lost because it serves no purpose.
        The damage is far reaching.

      • junican Says:

        That is very true, and I have felt the same thing. I have no ‘loyalty’ to anyone or anything, and that goes for political parties.
        I am amazed that anyone votes for a party any more. Why do they do so? Both major parties have sold us out to the EU.

        I was ‘loyal’ to my local pub until the smoking ban revealed that the publican was not actually ‘my friend’. He was pretending to be ‘my friend’.
        But that realisation, did not really matter, apart from which pub I went to. The ‘loyalty’ to that specific PLACE is what disappeared, never to return.

  7. smofunking Says:

    Since the introduction of the smoking Apartheid, I figured that if I’m being forced out into the smoking SOWETO, I might as well smoke a joint instead of a roll up. Consequently, thanks to TC/PH, my drug intake has increased over the last nine years. Cheers!

Comments are closed.


