More About Pompeii

I was searching the web for a decent video tour around a villa in Pompeii. I haven’t found one yet, but that may be understandable if there is nothing of substance to tour and video. But I came across a video of an Italian virtual reconstruction of some of the villas. It is in Italian, but that does not detract from the visual impact of the reconstruction – you do not need to speak Italian.

The video shows how a person entering a villa would have seen it. There would have been a wide-open space with a statue in the middle, or something, surrounded by columned, covered walkways, followed by a shallow pool of water, which led into a covered area with chairs and sofas, or something. That is where people lived.

The video is very good, but it still leaves massive holes in our knowledge. I really do not understand why an examination in detail of a villa cannot determine where the kitchen was. That, surely, must have been obvious. Where were the plates and utensils? Where were the bogs?

===

I just cannot help but feel that, once again, there is political interference,  but I do not know why. It makes no sense. For example, why were jugs, of which there are plenty, both big and small, taken from where they were found and collected together in a heap? Reconstructing the past would require that such actions would be anathema.

===

I cannot help but feel that lots of tobacco control epidemiology is a reconstruction of the past which is not unlike the excavations of Pompeii and Herculaneum. But the excavation evidence is distorted or ignored if it contradicts the narrative.

What might be the narrative? It might be anti-slavery or feminism, or anti-tobacco. I am sure that some zealot somewhere will have worked out that fewer people in Pompeii would have died if some of them had not enjoyed tobacco or its equivalent.

And so to bed.

2 Responses to “More About Pompeii”

  1. michaeljmcfadden Says:

    “why were jugs, of which there are plenty, both big and small, taken from where they were found and collected together in a heap”

    I could see a possible reason for this. People at the time may not have realized either (A) how bad things would get; or (B) that the problems might have been local enough that they had at least some hope of escaping (I have no idea if B was true on either account — I”m thinking of increasing ash-fall from the sky rather than inundation with hot lava.)

    In the event of either A or B it’s possible that people might have been gathering water into a “strong” point of the villa to ride out the problem.

    😕
    MJM

    • junican Says:

      Ah…. I was not clear. What I was talking about was the excavators moving such things to storage places rather than ‘re-creating’ such places as kitchens, toilets, etc. Not very smart of me, I think. In order to excavate, such things would have to moved out of the way, I suppose!

Comments are closed.


