Propaganda and Doctors

I had occasion to visit my doctor yesterday. I have not had to do so for years, so I was interested to see how things had changed.

They had not changed much over recent times, other than the wide-screen TV in the waiting room.

One would think that its purpose would be to amuse patients while they wait, but not quite so. What the TV showed was anti-smoking  prejudices in every imaginable form, over and over again, along with anti-alcohol prejudices again and again on a closed loop. It is hard not to watch because your name comes up on the screen when it is your turn (even though it is also announced).

It is hard to accept that my new GP has chosen those TV propaganda videos of his own accord. No… It must be because ASH ET AL have dictated. The Zealots have infiltrated every facet of our lives.

===

Cutting a long story short, I wonder if we have a human right to be self-sufficient. I mean that in an ABSOLUTE sense. Provided that we do not directly harm others, by doing what we wish, why should we not do as we wish? Does the EU have the right to dictate otherwise? That is important. It is the EU which decides our right to be self-sufficient or otherwise.

===

As I said, I am tired again. I must to bed.

4 Responses to “Propaganda and Doctors”

  1. michaeljmcfadden Says:

    Junican, I’m surprised the TV didn’t add ten points to your blood pressure! Sheeesh!

    You didn’t mention it, but I’d expect Big Pharma ads sprinkled throughout as well, though it’s possible the expected payback for the antismoking programming in the way of better citizen support for more taxes and allocations for Anti programs might be underwriting the costs.

    – MJM

    • junican Says:

      No, there were no BP ads. It was just Tobacco Control propaganda. For example, one subject was asthma. The clip said nothing about the cause of asthma, but suggested that tobacco smoke was a trigger for an asthma attack. Another clip showed a couple of older people laughing while drinking wine. The caption was: “The bodies of older people have more difficulty in processing alcohol”. It was simple scaremongering. I suspect that the doctor gets a bonus for running the continuous loop, and that it replaces the need for him to keep pestering individuals. After all, those in the waiting room are a captive audience, are they not? I watched the loop for a couple of iterations before it started to make me giggle at the preposterous claims. Funnily enough, although there were quite a few people in the waiting room, I noticed that hardly anyone looked at the TV. Perhaps they were regulars and had seen it all before.

  2. smokingscot Says:

    I sincerely hope this constant fatigue and now the doctor ain’t something serious.

    • junican Says:

      No! the ‘fatigue’ has more to do with having to get up earlier than normal compounded by a few glasses of red. The same is happening right now at 1 am. I was up before 11 am because herself was going to the hairdressers. I have had a couple of glasses or red so far, and my eyes are becoming heavy. It’s quite a nice feeling, actually.
      The visit to the doctor was more about reassurance than anything else regarding the wife’s condition and about certain medications that I have needed for some years. Is Prostatism a ‘smoking related disease’ yet?

Comments are closed.


