Is Anything Enjoyable Good For You? – No.

I’m glad to see ‘Public Health’ gradually destroying itself. Perhaps before too long, a brave politician, in Houses of Parliament, will stand up and ridicule the Health Secretary for being so gullible. It appears that THERE IS NOW NO SAFE LEVEL OF ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION.

When I was about 15, my Dad permitted me to consume half a pint of shandy. In the bad old days, parents did not know about the terminal affects of beer, so you cannot really blame him. Nevertheless, it was his fault that I am about to suffer illhealth and drop dead quite soon.

My Dad died at the age of 76. I too am now 76. I know for a fact that I have drunk far more alcohol during my life than he ever did. Far, far more. The reason is that he was a coal miner, and dared not drink during the week when he was working next day. On Saturday nights, he and Mum went to his catholic club and had a night out, and on Sunday lunchtime, he went to the club and played cards with his mates. That was it. I only ever saw him drunk once, which was when he was invited to a Christening party by a Polish immigrant family to celebrate a Christening. He got pissed on wine, which he was not used to.

But here I am, 76 years old, no signs of infirmity and pickled in alcohol. Oh, and, of course, I have been smoking since 19.

Readers might visit this site:

http://velvetgloveironfist.blogspot.co.uk/

Go teetotal to reduce dementia risks, NHS says:

Official NHS advice on prevention of dementia warns ‘there is no safe level of alcohol consumption’ which does not increase risk of the condition.

So to stop yourself becoming demented at around the age of 85 or so, you must not have a half pint of shandy at the age of 15. THERE IS NO SAFE LEVEL. And that is coming from the NHS.

On Monday evenings, I cook. I have little skill in that department, but I can manage eggy/bacony/sausagey. When you are grilling bacon and sausage, you cannot leave it to cook. You must attend at all times because the sausage and bacon have to be turned every few minutes if they are not be immolated. There was really lovely stink being emitted from the cooker. It is hard not to imagine the 2.5 mumicron (or whatever they are called) particles not drifting out of the cooker, along with their nitrosamines, and filling the kitchen with deadly carcinogens. I suppose that there are ‘bacon and sausage specific nitrosamines’. If not, why not?

But it gets worse:

Just one steak a week can increase risk of bowel cancer, study finds.

Eating just one steak a week increases the risk of bowel cancer by more than two-fifths, it has been claimed.

And:

Even a little is too much: One junk food snack triggers signals of metabolic disease.

And:

Doctors have warned that swigging just one energy drink exposes even “young, healthy” adults to an increased risk of heart disease.

And:

Soda in any amount is a brain-rotting, heart-wrecking, belly-expanding poison, and the latest science finds drinking even a little bit every day will shave nearly FIVE YEARS off your life… There is NO safe level of soda, period.

What then is safe?

Clearly, the disgusting, filthy, stinking air that we are forced to breath has no level of safety. The disgusting, stinking, filthy water that we drink has no level of safety. It is chock-a-block with arsenic and stuff like that. It probably also contains GENDER CHANGING HORMONES. There is no safe level of those substances.

Richard Doll smoked, but he stopped when he discovered the evil of smoking. He died at the age of about 85, but not before he has one final flourish in the McTear Case. Was he demented by his youthful smoking, and possibly his drinking of shandy? After all, he did call ‘the father of statistics’, Fisher, “an ignorant geneticist’.

There again, his life might have been cut short by eating too much sweet fruit. Something must have cut him down before the age of 150.

You see, the odds add up.

Here is my table:

  1. Smoking: minus 10 years of life.
  2. Drinking: minus 10 years of life.
  3. Eating junk processed food: minus 10 years of life.
  4. Binge drinking: minus 10 years of life.
  5. Drinking pop: minus 10 years of life.
  6. Not exercising enough: minus 10 years of life.

The total so far is minus 60 years of life. But we must note that the loss of life/years only applies to those who partake in all of the risky activities. Therefore, anyone who died young must have led a very risky life. The converse is also true. Anyone who lives until age 76 must be telling lies when he says that he drinks, smokes, stands in kitchens when bacon and sausages are cooking, drinks water, crosses roads, drives a car, breathes, eats oranges, etc, etc. Such a person must be dead. We aged persons must be zombies.

I don’t mind being a zombie, provided that I can go on smoking, drinking and eating pleasantly sweet food. I suppose that I could suck on grapefruit and lemon, and that, if I did, I might prolong my life beyond 150 years.

===

I have a serious point before I shut down for tonight.

The Doll ‘Doctors Study’ produced statistical timescales. I have been through this several times, and do not propose to do it again. Suffice to say that very few doctors were affected in their normal working life-times. Most of them were retired before they were affected. That is, beyond 65 years old.

Doll’s statistics were the product of smoking the sort of cigs which were heavy in tar. Cigs today have very little tar.

So what are today’s timescales for smokers developing LC? There are no such stats. The stats which the Tobacco Control Industry relies upon are ancient texts.

Clearly, also, it relies upon witchcraft, and it works. Government has been bewitched by magic spells. Government has been bewitched by the idea that everyone is ill, and that everyone needs to be cured.

Apart from themselves, of course.

17 Responses to “Is Anything Enjoyable Good For You? – No.”

  1. michaeljmcfadden Says:

    Junican, you’re now officially my favorite zombie! Even better than Bubba in the original “Day Of The Dead.”

    Re alcohol: Actually, with alcohol being a Class 1 carcinogen we already knew there was NO SAFE LEVEL.

    Any parent who forces carcinogenic orange juice (380mg/pint ethyl alcohol) down the throat of a child should be imprisoned immediately.

    Hmmmmm….. actually……….. If you are DRINKING orange juice in the same building with someone else you are forcing the highly volatile chemical down their throats!

    Re bacon/pork particulates: If you live in a building with a religious group that believes ingestion, in any amount, of pork products denies them admission to the afterlife, I guess you can’t be allowed to fry up bacon any more.

    I guess it’d be OK to eat…. as long as you just boiled it.

    – MJM

    • junican Says:

      There is no answer to anyone who insists that 2 + 2 = 5. You cannot reason with such a person. Michael Siegel has been asked, again and again, how he justified his take on SHS. He has always refused to address that question. The main problem with SHS is the timescale, and not the theoretical danger. Many studies have been done, and they cannot find harm in the normal human lifetime. If full on smoking takes 30 years to have a deleterious affect, how much longer does SHS take? It must be a multiple of ten, or thereabouts. Thus, a person must live for 300 years before SHS kills him.
      Siegel has an agenda. It is not a bad agenda. His agenda is to kill Tobacco Companies.
      How would he react if someone powerful decided to kill the Tobacco Control Industry? The TCI is extremely vulnerable.

  2. cherie79 Says:

    I have eaten what I liked, enjoyed a drink when I wanted it and still usually have a glass or two of wine with my dinner. I had smoked for 50 years when a lung nodule was found Incidentally when I was 67, a couple of years after my husbands very sudden death. Had surgery five years ago and been fine since and blame stress and shock rather than smoking. I am not overweight, have no real physical problems and, like you, wonder why I am still alive and well. My mother who neither smoked nor drank and taught swimming and weight training died at 72 after a series of strokes. I note that the ex German chancellor died today at 96 having smoked all his life right to the end, no doubt it was premature!! I just ignore every scare story.

  3. michaeljmcfadden Says:

    Well, if you can’t eat bacon, you could always try this alternative:

    (1962 Twilight Zone: “To Serve Man”)

    • junican Says:

      Sadly, your link did not work.

      • michaeljmcfadden Says:

        For some reason I don’t understand, American video links sometimes don’t seem to survive the transit overseas. :/ Basically it’s a Twilight Zone episode based upon a science fiction story titled “To Serve Man.” Check for the story on the internet and you’ll understand my reference.

        – MJM

      • garyk30 Says:

        The zinger at the end was one of many such zingers in a great series of stories!

  4. garyk30 Says:

    10 years of life lost?
    died 10 years pre-maturely
    We see such statements a lot.

    How old would you be at death to lose 10 years of possible life?

    Looks to be 76.5

    https://www.ssa.gov/oact/STATS/table4c6.html

    For this table, the period life expectancy at a given age is the average remaining number of years expected prior to death for a person at that exact age, born on January 1, using the mortality rates for 2011 over the course of his or her remaining life.

    Male/age of death/ years of possible life left

    76…. 10.34
    77….. 9.76

    • garyk30 Says:

      “the average remaining number of years expected prior to death”

      50% would be expected to live longer to a un-specified age.

      • junican Says:

        So, since I am now 76, according to that table, I can expect to live for another 10 years…… Provided that I am not, at this moment, terminally ill, or have some other, known or unknown, health problem. Of course, as a smoker, I have no more life expectancy at all.

  5. nisakiman Says:

    I suppose that I could suck on grapefruit and lemon, and that, if I did, I might prolong my life beyond 150 years.

    I don’t know if you watched the debate on Chris Snowdon’s blog last night, but Deborah Arnott looked as if she does nothing but suck on lemons. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a sour-faced person. If that’s what anti-smoking does to you, I’d rather not live to 150. And I rather doubt that Arnott will live to a great age, either.

    Regardless of what they tell us about the perils of smoking, in all my years I’ve never actually met anyone who has suffered from a disease caused by their smoking. I’ve known a few (not many) people who have had ‘smoking related’ diseases, but they were known to have been caused by something unrelated to smoking. And the only people I’ve known who died young of cancer were never-smokers. My mother died at 53 of a heart attack, and she never smoked and hardly drank.

    I, on the other hand, am now 66. I’ve smoked since I was 12, I drink on average a bottle of red wine every evening, I eat whatever takes my fancy (anything which is labelled ‘lo-fat’, ‘diet’, ‘sugar-free’ or similar never gets near my shopping basket) and I totally ignore any dietary guidelines proffered by the ‘experts’. I still work 8 hours or more a day, very often 7 days a week, depending on my workload. My work (i have a carpentry business) is very physical so I am by necessity very fit. Not only that, but people regularly react in astonishment when I tell them my age, as they usually think I’m in my fifties.

    I’m also still making long-term plans for my life! 🙂

    The grey, joyless ones can stick their doom-mongering prognostications up their collective arses. I believe that I am the one best positioned to decide what is best for me, not some purse-lipped puritan with an agenda.

    • junican Says:

      Your lifestyle almost exactly mirrors mine! That is, apart from the work aspect. Not that I don’t work – having an invalid wife keeps one quite busy enough, thank you. Also, I have my baccy plantation, which involves quite a lot of digging and tending, to say nothing of lawn mowing, housework and maintenance, car maintenance, etc, etc. I never seem to stop until the wife is back in bed and I can do some blogging. For me too, people are astonished when I tell them my age. I suppose that is because I am slim built and my hair has not gone grey, nor do I look haggard or totter about (except when somewhat inebriated). I too drink about a bottle of red wine per day.

      What’s there not to like?

      I was going to watch the debate but forgot. But I have seen resumes. How on earth could the vote be lost? But we know that the Zealots are wily bastards. No doubt they got quite a few of their number in the audience. But they couldn’t have got that many, otherwise they would have won easily.

  6. slugbop007 Says:

    Congratulations on living past the official cutoff age for a premature death.

    • junican Says:

      But I am a smoker, and have been since 19. Therefore, however old I am when I peg out, I will have died 10 years prematurely. That’s how tobacco control statistics work.

  7. Jude Says:

    Thanks Junican, you answered a question that has been in my mind for a while now, I do believe that I am also one of the “undead”, going by “official” statistics, I should have died around 20 years ago, now perhaps I did, and through some sort of voodoo magic, I have dodged the coffin.

    Like Nisakiman above my own mother died young, of cancer when she was 48, she never drank alcohol, never smoked, but she did worry an awful lot about everything and everybody. The stress of this took its toll on her health. I’m now the same age as her when she died, but, despite the fact that I like a drink, and smoked for over 20 years, and now vape, I don’t worry, I laugh a lot, (particularly at the ridiculousness of the puritan healthists, they really are very funny), and ignore the vast majority of dross that pours out of the church of public health.

    F*ck em all I say, lets enjoy the “Dawn of the Dead”. Think I’ll pass on eating the brains of the “living” though, not much nourishment there.

    • junican Says:

      My wife’s mother died young. She had heart problems. I think that she was in her 30s. As you know, my wife has had MS for over 30 years since diagnosis. She is still with us at 74.
      I like that phrase “Dawn of the Dead”. I reckon that I have been “undead” for at least 10 years. My non-life expectancy is infinite.

Comments are closed.


