How Tobacco Control Has changed Our Habits

Around 2007, I did ALL my alcoholic drinking in the pub. I rarely drank at home. I kept no beer at home and a bottle of whiskey might sit in its appropriate place all year until Christmas.

Now, I buy red wine in 3 litre boxes and rarely go to the pub. I drink my vino and blather on the internet.

I wonder what lonely individuals do? I speak of those people who have lost their wives/husbands and whose children are long gone, or who have no offspring. How do they keep their spirits up? In fact, one might ask if their ‘spirits’ survive.

That idea is far too messy at this time of night.

===

I am, I suspect, a bit pissed tonight. If I am, it is the fault of tobacco control. It was tobacco control which changed pubs from friendly, welcoming places to forbidding places.

Heath is not everything. What would be the point of being perfectly healthy but miserable? That is a state of existence which animals might have to accept. Human beings do not have to accept that, as the mass migration of individuals from the Middle East to Europe has shown. Those immigrants are not the slightest bit interested in their ‘health’. What they want is ‘wealth’ and not ‘health’.

—-

I am pissed on red wine. It is not my fault. It is because tobacco control drove me out of my local pub which used to be good fun but is now deathly. Further, the acquiescence of pubcos drove down the natural resistance of individuals. Pubcos accepted a duty to become policemen, which they should have fought against tooth and nail. The duty which they accepted was fascist and totalitarian, and they should have fought against it with all their might.

But they chickened out.

The immigrants have not ‘chickening out’. They are fighting.

What is obvious is that the EU is unreal and has always been so. There is no real EU. There is only a bureaucracy which has no purpose other than to survive.

There is only one answer, which is to quit. What that actually means is to stop giving our money to the bureaucrats. It is really easy. These people demanded over a billion pounds. Cameron said that we would not pay. But, recently, we have paid.

I firmly believe that our politicians are simply too young and too inexperienced. Also, the world is too complex for them to get to grips with. Therefore, it would make sense for them to simplify everything as best they can. For example, a ‘tobacco product’ should only be something produced by the tobacco industry, and should not apply to efforts of private individuals for their own consumption. The idea is simple; you can create your own wine; you can create your own vodka; you can create your own tobacco; if you so wish. You have A HUMAN RIGHT to do so. Your HUMAN RIGHT does not depend upon a law which forbids discrimination. Your HUMAN RIGHT is entirely positive. It does not require double negatives, such as, “You cannot say ‘no’ to a person whom you do not like”

I must to bed. But this subject is very, very important. TC has buggered up our happiness and welfare, and not one jot of value has resulted. TC is a leach feeding upon the body politic. It should be sprayed with insecticide.

 

 

18 Responses to “How Tobacco Control Has changed Our Habits”

  1. Timothy Goodacre Says:

    Exactly how I feel.

  2. elenamitchell Says:

    I agree. And you are not alone. A lot of people drink their own vino and blather on the Internet while smoking to their heart’s content.

  3. cherie79 Says:

    I think that’s how we all feel and even if they amended the law I don’t think I would go back. The refusal to fight these ridiculous laws put me off and I have got used to enjoying my red wine at home.

  4. garyk30 Says:

    I, also, buy my red wine in bulk and seldom go out unless my wife is tired of eating at home.

    Pubs/taverns never come into our minds.

  5. elenamitchell Says:

    Was it ever fun? I suppose it must have been. But then we were all smokers.
    The only half decent place for a conversation at a bar or a pub these days is outside.

  6. garyk30 Says:

    ref:
    amoral or moral/immoral

    I suspect that is all dependent on a cultural or social set of values.

    if there are no value judgments, there will be no concept of moral values.

    Nature makes no value judgments and will no sense of ‘morality’.

    • junican Says:

      if there are no value judgements, there will be no concept of moral values.
      That is precisely the point, Gary, but it is the wrong way round. ‘Value judgements’ at a basic, animalistic level are selfish and totally amoral. The ‘value’ is food or some other gain. Those judgements are neither moral not immoral. But what about the attitude of animals to their own species? I think that that too is not a moral matter. It is instinct, and is neither moral nor immoral. It is amoral. I believe that morality precedes value judgements. For example, if I saw someone drop a £20 note, I would tell him. I would do so because of my ‘moral’ attitude. Another person might grab the note and pocket it. That would be ‘immoral’, from a human point of view. An ‘amoral’ action might be to ignore it and walk on.Morality influences value judgements, and not the other way round.
      That is the trouble with tobacco control. It set ‘longevity’ as a value judgement, but forgot the ‘immoral’ aspect which requires obedience to achieve the goal of increased longevity. The amoral aspect comes from political activism and bent research. Both politics and research are amoral.

      • garyk30 Says:

        One might substitute illegal/legal for immoral/moral.

        Legality is just morality put into laws.

        Illegal is just an immoral act that has been proscribed by a law. Or what some decide is an immoral act, such as smoking in public.

        Both are ‘judgments’ that are put into place by a group of people in order to control other people.

      • junican Says:

        No! That is the point. Laws are no longer based upon morality. They are amoral. They are whatever can be enacted by a pressure group at a particular time. That does not mean that they are immoral. The important thing is that they are neither moral nor immoral. They are amoral.

  7. Some French Bloke Says:

    I wonder what lonely individuals do? […] How do they keep their spirits up?

    The result is just a scattered bunch of manic-depressives (not to mention suicides), with the TC crew only promoting further social isolation.

  8. junican Says:

    I’m not sure what happens in the minds of smokers. Are they almost all riddled with guilt? Perhaps 70% of them are riddled with guilt. That guilt has been manufactured. Commenters here and elsewhere are not so affected.
    The best thing that could happen is that all those smokers who feel guilty move to ecigs. Maybe then, those of us who enjoy real tobacco can gain some freedom.

    • Some French Bloke Says:

      I’m not sure what happens in the minds of smokers.

      Someone ought to write an essay about “Dissecting Smokers’ Brains”, with the guilt-tripped smokers still believing in Tobacco Control’s propaganda classified as disinformed neurotics (thus technically a-moral), and well-informed tobacco-harm ‘denialists’ described as perfectly normal and moral human beings.
      And with the professional antismokers portrayed as the real immoralists!

  9. The Blocked Dwarf Says:

    My parents were rather poor.Childhood trips and outings were always accompanied by my Mother’s home made bread sandwiches with whatever ‘yellow label’ cheese, slices of her home made jam sponge cake and a tartan Thermos (was there a law?) of tea. One of my goals growing up was to be able to afford to eat in a cafe and buy tea or coffee or coke whilst out.

    So as an adult (supposedly) I spent a large part of my disposable income a month in the cafes/bistros of Germany and later the UK. Breakfast, dinner and lunchtimes. In 2003 between I was spending £40-£70 a week in such establishments- I kid you not.

    Since 2007 I have a jar of nescafe (I can’t even be arsed to make ‘real’ coffee) at home and have given serious thought to taking a packed lunch if I go anywhere. Not because I couldn’t afford to go to Starfucks et al but they obviously don’t want my custom so I dislike troubling them to serve me.

    I shouldn’t grumble, capnophobic cafe owners and bigotted bistroers mean I now save £50 a week most weeks…and I do mean ‘save’ as in ‘pay into a savings account’. Not bad for someone on benefits and there are probably quite a few fulltime workers who would like to be able to save £50 a week most weeks of the year.

    I used to enjoy going out for a meal. I especially enjoyed the near orgasmic taste of tobacco after a meal I hadn’t had to cook
    Now I grab something from the chipshop downstairs.. if at all.

    • junican Says:

      I think that masses of people are doing what you describe. If there is no ‘fun’, what is the point?
      I think that most smokers make a decision. For example, at an airport, they will just not smoke, nor will they on the aircraft. It is easy, and I have done it umpteen times. It does not bother me. I feel no ‘nicotine withdrawal’. But once I have exited the arrival airport I avidly light up. That is not because I am an addict, but because I enjoy a smoke.
      An interesting idea is to differentiate between ‘smoking’ as a continuity and ‘having a smoke’.
      Interesting….

  10. Mr A Says:

    I was a regular of the “night-time economy.” For 20 years I was in the pub 3 – 4 times a week, I’d go to nightclubs once a week and be splashing out cash on champers etc. I’d even pop into places like Spearmint Rhino or Legs Eleven once a month or so and drop a load of cash there. I’d probably spend a grand a month, just on going out. Then came 2007.
    Now I go to the pub maybe once every couple of months, and even then I don’t particularly enjoy it. I’ve lost two stone and saved around £60,000 without even trying. But the Tobacco Control parasites have ruined my life and I still dream of a day when tolerance and common sense returns and I can go out again without feeling as if I’m forcing myself to.

    • garyk30 Says:

      I too used to be a ‘regular’.
      Then I got married, bought a house, and we had kids.

      Smoking bans have little impact on my life; but, I have little extra cash.

    • junican Says:

      I too have stopped spending loads-a-money. To make it worse (or should that be better?), because herself is not well enough to travel, we cannot even spend the money we have saved on holidays abroad! It’s a bugger. I’ve been giving my daughters thousands of pounds – better they spend it now on their needs and wants at today’s prices than have it languishing in a bank account losing value all the time. Is that one of the wonderful results of tobacco control persecution?

Comments are closed.


