Knackered, and watching a Production of Hamlet on ITV3

A 1990 film production of Hamlet. Great cast – Mel Gibson, Glen Close, Helena Bonham Carter, and others. 1990 – 25 years ago.

I must admit that I personally feel that many of Shakespeare’s plays do not easily transfer to the ‘big screen’. Some of the old films, the ‘Henry’ plays, were really good, but the plots in those plays were not particularly complex.

Hamlet is, it seems, the longest of Shakespeare’s plays. It is also has a messy and complex plot. A quick summary:

Hamlet’s father, Hamlet, King of Denmark, dies in suspicious circumstances and is replaced as King by his brother, who becomes King Claudius. Within a month, King Claudius marries the widow of King Hamlet, Queen Gertrude, mother of Hamlet. Hamlet is upset about this and is suspicious about the death of his father.

(I hope that the dear reader is sober when reading this)

There is a love interest named Ophelia. Her father, Polonius, is (let’s call him) Prime Minister and she has a brother names Laertes. Both Polonius and Laertes warn Ophelia against falling for Hamlet.

The ghost of King Hamlet appears and tells Hamlet that Claudius poisoned him. The ghost tells Hamlet to avenge him, but not to involve Queen Gertrude, who is innocent.

ETC, ETC, ETC.

That is what I mean about the plot being complex. It goes on and on and gets more and more messy. Suffice to say that Ophelia drowns, possibly by suicide, King Claudius poisons a chalice which is intended for Hamlet, but which Queen Gertrude drinks and dies. I the same place, at the same time, Hamlet and Laertes are having a fencing match. A sort of fun friendly, but Laertes has poisoned the blade of his sword. He wounds Hamlet. Somehow, they exchange swords, and Hamlet wounds Laertes. Before he pegs out, Hamlet staggers over to King Claudius and stabs him with the poisoned sword. Gertrude, Hamlet, Laertes and Claudius peg out – bodies litter the floor.

What is really weird is the ending, and it is hard to understand as regards the politics of the day in the 1500s. The thing is that Hamlet, in his dying breath, recommends that a Norwegian by the name of Fortinbras, takes over as King of Denmark.

How do we know whether or not that ending might have been seen as hilarious in the 1500s? How do we know that Hamlet, the great tragedy, did not end with a joke? How do we know that Denmark and Norway were not Shakespeare’s equivalent of England and Scotland? There is something odd about the names of the characters – Polonius, Ophelia, Laertes, Claudius, Horatio are Latin names. Hamlet? Fortinbras? Rosencrantz? Guildenstern?

Question: Despite all the wonderful soliloquies in that play, was it essentially a political comedy?

—-

As I said, I do not think that Hamlet transfers to the big screen easily. In the version that I have been watching, despite the big name cast, the magnificent settings of the scenes distracted attention from the story, although the magnificent text was faithfully followed.

====

I can’t help but feel that something similar has been happening in society for a considerable amount of time. Magnificent scenarios have been distracting attention from the text for a long time. For example, the scenario “SMOKERS GET LUNG CANCER FIFTEEN TIMES MORE OFTEN THAN NON-SMOKERS” distracts attention from the text. The text is:

To smoke or not to smoke; that is the question. Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of the UN, the WHO, the EU, ASH and Taxes, or, by using an ecig, or buying from white van man, or growing your own stuff, or being self-sufficient as best you can, END THEM. 

====

In America, there is a thriving organisation which defends the possession of firearms. There are some sensible limitations in some States, as I understand it. Automatics are not accepted without a lot of checking. But pistols and rifles are OK.

The odd thing is that there is not an organisation which defends smokers, who are accused of killing more people than firearms do.

Is it not absolutely beyond belief that tobacco companies never even tried, with any genuine interest, to talk to their customers? Was that because they thought that they were so powerful that they could laugh at the puny efforts of people like Doll?

I detest both sides. I detest tobacco companies and tobacco control. I want the Government to free up the market in tobacco products so that small companies in the UK can market their products. The thing is that, because of the tax, a superior tasting product will not cost much more than a crap tasting product. What this means is that EU Directives must be ignored.

You see, there is no need for the UK to cause a war with the EU. It is all very simple, and perfectly legal. The EU is founded upon a few treaties. There is no need to go into great detail about the treaties – the UK can decide to stop. To just stop. To just stop. The point is that treaties are like agreements between neighbours. “I will not throw slugs in my garden over the fence provided that you do not throw snails in your garden over the fence”. Believe it or not, that is precisely the nature of the EU Treaty, even though it might be very much more complex.

The UK can say, “We take note of the directives but do not accept the time-scales”. Do you see the point? I’m sure you do. What is absolutely of the greatest importance is that secret deals must stop. Transparency must be clear and determined. That includes financing NGOs and fake Charities which lobby Government.

I am hopeful without expectation. Must to bed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Knackered, and watching a Production of Hamlet on ITV3”

  1. Ed Says:

    Very true, re your comments on Shakespeare! The Baconian theory was always quite an interesting take on things considering his political and Rosicrucian connections. There’s a little bit of info on wiki about it;

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baconian_theory_of_Shakespeare_authorship

    Also, Francis Bacon’s name pops up again when researching the origins of the King James bible. When considering all the declamatio books the catholic church was acquiring during this period in time it does make you question their actual authorship and the political reasoning behind their release.

    There’s a very interesting take/hypothesis on Bacon, the Vulgate and the king James version of the bible here;

    https://mikemcclaughry.wordpress.com/the-reading-library/world-government/backdated-overpopulation-myths-and-the-forging-of-the-bible/

    How are your tobacco seedlings getting on? I’ve been quietly amazed at the growth of mine. Going from sowing the seed to lush plants, with leaves on one golden Virginia being over 10 inches in length in just 44days! (Sown 28th March)

    • junican Says:

      I have been reading your link about the bible and stuff. Very, very interesting. The part Scientology was rather boring though. Of course, the author had a personal interest. The cunning of the ‘slavemasters’ in the 15th, 16th, 17th centuries was hard to believe, but well backed up. To be honest, I didn’t know that slave trading went back as far as Elizabeth 1’s time. The ‘sea lane’ triangle was interesting – manufactured goods from England to Africa; slaves from Africa to West Indies and America; sugar, tobacco, raw materials to England.
      ====
      As regards your plants, I am incredulous! Mine are still only a couple of inches tall. Am I reading you right? Did you really mean that you have a plant with leaves 10″ long after a mere 44 days from germination? Heavens!
      You must tell me what you have been doing. If you prefer, you can send an email to:

      bscjunican@yahoo.co.uk

      I really am interested because I have seen nothing at all which suggests such rapid progress. I am interested in anything and everything that might explain.
      What sort of compost are you using?
      What size pots, if any?
      Are you using grow-lights?
      Fertiliser?
      Outdoor exposure?
      What is your location?

      Judging from previous experience, I am about a month behind, but I did have problems germinating, which I wrote about (essentially, compost too cold).
      Do tell……

  2. Ed Says:

    I think Slavemasters is a great term for their ilk! As I mentioned, it’s a hypothesis but I quite like it as it makes people aware of declamatio books and how they are used to lend political weight when released and how they control the minds of men. Also, how the works themselves suck people in like a conjuring trick. A great example of this is the king Arthur/Prince Madoc nonsense. There are researchers out there still chasing their tails looking for anecdotal evidence of Welsh speaking native American Indians, but this is exactly what it was designed to do!

    http://www.rense.com/general28/weks.htm

    Yes you read me correctly! They are squeezed into 4″ square pots atm, and due to be potted on tonight. I think I gave you links in an older post to my home made compost, which I use to help keep my costs down.

    Yes I use a bank of fluorescent lighting. 4 x 4ft tubes, Set on 18 hrs light. I do all my veggies this way and the tobacco got treated no differently. I

    As for fertilisers: For tobacco I started them in one inch cells (didn’t transplant, but instead sowed around 5 seeds per cell then thinned out instead) When first true leaves showed (not cotyledon leaves) I let them have a drink of diluted seaweed solution. When cells looked like drying out again I gave 1/4 strength feed of chempak 3. (20.20.20.) All waterings after this I used chempak 2 feed (high nitrogen)

    They’ve been outside for around 2 weeks now under cloches but have brought them in in the evenings. Last 4 evenings I’ve left my first batch outside.

    In the first batch, the Golden Virginias responded best being extemely fast growing. Vesta 64 came in second but is still a fast grower. Silver river is definitely one for artificial light as it would be a very leggy grower if you tried this variety on the windowsill.

    I did later sowings of Golden Burley, Yellow twist Bud, Virginia Brightleaf and Monte Calme, all looking good atm, so will no doubt have some excess come planting out time.

    I’m located in the North West, In Tyldesley, so not too far from you. Give me a shout if you want any of the spares. I have several varieties on the go too, so you can have a pick at what you fancy.

    • junican Says:

      Well, bugger me! We are close neighbours. I have sent you an email. I think that we should meet up and discuss.
      —-
      In the matter of tobacco smoking danger, I would think that ‘declamatio’ is equivalent to ‘studies have shown’. When you look for the studies, many are hidden, or are just too messy or erudite for most people, including all politicians. (NB. Erudite means ‘containing lots of jargon words’) In any case, the studies quoted are often ‘macro’ combinations of studies which are obscure, and will, eventually, become ‘lost’. “Adds to the body of evidence” is the phrase.
      Because of the speed of today’s communications, I am amazed that the the frauds have still not been found out, and that the Minister of State for Health is still blind.
      ==
      Re the plants.
      If I were to say that I am impressed, that would be an insult to you. The situation demands adulation or even worship.

      The key, I think, is the lighting (as well as the other great things like the fertilizer). I must make it my business to buy a couple of grow-lights. It is THE TYPE of light which is most important, especially when the plants are indoors. Well, that is what I have read.

      I wish my plants were as advanced as yours because the further advanced they are at this time, the more likely they are to reach full fruition, by which I mean producing seedpods before it gets too cold. Even though my plants are delayed, I have no doubt at all that I shall get lots of huge leaves.
      What a wonderful hobby this is!

Comments are closed.


