Curing Stuff

A couple of months ago, I published this pic:

2014-08-17 16.07.29

It is my ‘curing box’ for my home-grown stuff. Is it not pretty? It was made with the remnant of a wardrobe and the material is chipboard. “Shame!”, one might shout. What millionaire would confess to owning the remnants of a chipboard wardrobe? However, those people of less than millionaire status might not be so bothered.

So I built the box. Placed on the bottom of the box is a ‘slow cooker’, aka a ‘crock pot’ in the USA. That machine heats up gently, and is intended to to stew food at a low temperature for hours. Its benefits are specifically designed to assist people who have to go to work for several hours per day. It just so happens that it is also ideal for warming green tobacco plant leaves at a temperature which is ideal to allow them to ‘ferment’ and turn yellow. The word ‘ferment’ is not quite right, but it conveys the general idea. At the right temperature, tobacco plant leaves will convert starches into sugars, which is why we find the taste of tobacco pleasant.

Since I built the box, I have found it necessary to insulate it. I used various plates of polystyrene to do so, temporarily, along with various duvets. The insulation is a mess, but it works well enough for now. Next year, I’ll improve it.

=====

I cannot say what exactly is the weight or value of my produce. Suffice to say that it is minimal, although valuable to me.

And so we see the stupidity of Border Control trying to control the legitimate import of dried tobacco plant leaves. If I was asked why I am buying a couple of kilos of leaves, my answer would be ‘to experiment’ with different blends.

But Tobacco Control is out of it depth. People who buy cigs DO NOT pay duty. The price of cigs might include the duty, but the buyer is not actually the persona who pays the duty. Manufacturers pay the duty, and since the Wonderful, Conservative Government has driven out tobacco manufacturing enterprises (Lansley: “We hope that Tobacco will have no place in this Country”), the only source of duty is importers.

====

There is a cruelty involved. Generalising “Imports of dried tobacco leaves” as needing special and specific regulations plays directly into Tobacco Company advantages.

===

It is up to Traders and Producers to protest, but we consumers can also protest by claiming that we are being demonised and persecuted. Write to Patel herself.

====

The important thing is that we are not ‘servants of the State’. Judges in Courts must emphasis that. WE ARE NOT SERVANTS OF THE STATE!!!

 

 

4 Responses to “Curing Stuff”

  1. garyk30 Says:

    ” WE ARE NOT SERVANTS OF THE STATE!”

    Unless, of course, you choose to be one.

    In America, there are normally about 40% – 45% of the eligible voters that choose not to vote in important national elections.

    In Tues ‘midterm’ election the non-participation rate of possible voters was close to 70%.

    Voluntary Servitude is alive and florishing on this side of the pond. 😦

    • junican Says:

      I think that ‘laissez faire’ is normal, and, to a large extent, politicians rely upon it. They want only their supporters to vote. They come a cropper when voters rouse themselves from apathy and turn out. It seems to me that that is what is happening in the UK with regard to UKIP. Loads and loads of people who would not normally go to the polls, and loads and loads of people who would normally vote as they normally do, regardless of ‘minor matters’, are changing their habits. When I say ‘loads and loads’, I do not mean VAST numbers. I mean sufficiently large numbers.
      I think that that is what is worrying the main parties. The situation is not just normal swings and roundabouts in bye-elections. There has been a sea-change which might not reverse itself come the next General Election.

  2. johncatfoot Says:

    It just so happens that it is also ideal for warming green tobacco plant leaves at a temperature which is ideal to allow them to ‘ferment’ and turn yellow.
    That’s interesting.
    2012 & 2013 I picked the leaves as they became yellow and went from there. They dried golden.
    This year, although they’ve grown much more (some at 7 feet), they’ve stayed green.
    Hanging them in the cabinet at 33 degrees, they dry, but dry green.
    I’m told that green won’t do.

    • junican Says:

      Going purely from what you say, it seems that the humidity in your cabinet is far too low.
      Imagine that you placed a green leaf in front of a fire, or upon a hot radiator, what would you expect to happen? The green leaf would dry out rapidly and stay green.
      I had that experience at the beginning of my endeavours when, in my ignorance, I tried to towel one leaf. It dried green. Well, of course it would! It had no source of moisture other than itself.

      —–

      I have no idea what to suggest because the info you have provided is so pause. What is your source of heat? What instruments do you have to indicate temperature and humidity?

Comments are closed.


