Back to the Grind

And grind it seems to be. The Health Zealots are trying every dirty trick in the book to get their way, not only on tobacco, but also on booze, food and everything else that takes their fancy.

But, having been up early and being tired, tonight is not the night to comment on these matters. Instead, can I say that I have been truly astonished by the growth in the plants over the past week. Here is a pic from a week ago:

2014-07-22 16.58.45

And here is a pic from two weeks ago:

2014-07-15 19.47.58

You can see a very visible improvement in only one week. Imagine my surprise when I got home today to find this:

2014-07-30 17.29.49

[The white object is a 30 cm ruler]

——-

On the other hand, the plants in plot 2 are not doing particularly well:

2014-07-30 17.31.03

Those plants are in a much more shady area. Since both plots were prepared in the same way (urine and split tea bags dug into the ground), it makes sense to attribute the difference to the lack of sunlight to plot 2. It is also true that the plants in plot 2 did not perform last year as well as plot 1. Having said that, it is also true that many of the plants in plot 2 are new ones, because of the initial problem that I had with slugs.

Here is another interesting pic (note the ruler):

2014-07-30 17.28.41

A week ago, those new plants were much smaller:

2014-07-15 19.48.58

It looks as though being on the kitchen window sill has been good for them.

But what to do with them? (NB. I have another 20 0r so upstairs) I have 3 buckets and a couple of other containers, so I think I’ll experiment with them. I know that LegIron produced some decent plants using buckets. I tried using buckets indoors to see what would happen, but that experiment was not successful – the plants grew and even seeded, but the leaves were very small. This time, I’ll keep the buckets outdoors to get the sun, and we’ll see how well they do.

It is all most intriguing.

It is not easy to see, but some of the very lowest leaves are turning yellow or pale green. That is because the plant ‘turns off’ the supply of nutrients to them. They have not much substance, but I have in mind to collect them and treat them anyway. Why waste them?

=====

I had a very pleasant ‘rest and recuperation’ period while I was away. Magaluf, in Mallorca, has a reputation for being somewhat wild on the youth party scene. That is true to some extent, but not as bad as is made out. It isn’t often that one has the chance to observe at first hand the behaviour of hundreds, or perhaps even thousands, of ‘children and young people’ milling about in the early hours of the morning.

I shall have something to say about that tomorrow night.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Back to the Grind”

  1. michaeljmcfadden Says:

    Oicks!

    Be careful Junican. Those might not be tobacco plants.

    They might be….

    TRIFFIDS!!!!!

    ;>
    MJM

Comments are closed.


