Breaking out the E-cig

I’m away for a few days this weekend. Off to Southern Spain for a bit of rest and recuperation. I have booked a smoking hotel, or so they say, but, just in case, I’ve got the e-cig out and am charging up the batteries. The weather forecast for next week is not great – rather cool, cloudy/sunny,  but we all know that forecasts at this time of year, even for Spain, can be way out. Regular readers may remember this pic from about this time last year:

2013-02-22 20.40.08

Before anyone gets the wrong idea, even the Spanish are not so silly as to have an enormous no-smoking sign! The no-smoking sign is on the mirror and I am taking a picture of the mirror. But do you notice the bed on the sign under the no-smoking sign? Does that mean no-smoking in bed? What the hell – I took my own ashtray with me and shall do so again.

But, just in case ……..

2013-05-06 17.56.43

That’s a pic of the e-cig I own. Awfully outdated, I suppose, but the good thing is that it looks nothing like a cigarette. According to the proposed EU totalitarian legislation, it would be banned because of the way you use it. What you have to do is pull out the black bit from the top. Inside it is a bit of what looks like cotton wool. You use a ‘dropper’ (?) to infuse the cotton wool with a few drops of liquid. The more stuff you put in, the greater the ‘smoke’ emitted (but not to overfill the thing, of course). “OH MY GOD!” scream the Zealots in the EU, “the ‘dose’ is not regulated!”

But what may be interesting would be the attitude of hotel staff if I vape in the the hotel public areas. Better to ask first, I suppose. I don’t want to finish up incarcerated in a Spanish gaol.

8 Responses to “Breaking out the E-cig”

  1. Breaking Out The E-Cig! | VapeHalla! | Scoop.it Says:

    […] I’m away for a few days this weekend. Off to Southern Spain for a bit of rest and recuperation. I have booked a smoking hotel, or so they say, but, just in case, I’ve got the e-cig out and am charging up the batteries. The weather forecast for next week is not great – rather cool, cloudy/sunny, but we all know that forecasts at this time of year, even for Spain, can be way out. Regular readers may remember this pic from about this time last year:  […]

  2. J Brown Says:

    I just had a great thought while reading this blog, regarding how the legislation for e-cigs is somewhat based on how you use it, its shape, etc. If you were in a public place, and were puffing on, say, a toothpick or swizzle stick, presumably this is within the law. How about a stick of celery? Again, that would be fine. Part of the experience of smoking is the physical act of holding something, puffing away, etc. Certainly, if you were to stop smoking, the nicotine is out of your system in 72 hours – what remains is the yearning for that behavior. In any event, perhaps e-cigs, shaped as a stalk of celery, a toothpick or a lollipop would be an idea. To bring this absurdity further, we could also procure the nicotine from other sources, like any other plant in the nightshade family – potatoes, tomatoes, etc. So, problem sorted, an e-cig shaped like a short stalk of celery with nicotine taken from sources other than tobacco. It would be interesting to see where the legislation would go from there. Eventually, the behavior of putting anything in your mouth and ‘puffing’ on it would be outlawed. And, of course, as you say, the entirety of the nightshade family would have to be outlawed as well. Very sad.

    • junican Says:

      I’ve often thought of the idea of ‘sucking’. After all, when we smoke, we suck on end of the cigarette. It is a matter of fact that when you suck on a lollipop you inhale flavours as well as swallowing juice. You would think from TC’s propaganda that we never inhale anything but ‘clean, fresh air’.
      I’ve acquired some seeds of the ‘nicotiana rustica’ variety. I was reading that they have about three times the nicotine that the ‘Nic. tobaccum’ has. It’s just a growing experiment really to see how big the leaves are etc. We must wait for LegIron to discover an easy way to extract the nicotine.

  3. beobrigitte Says:

    Have a nice break!!! Don’t forget to take some tobacco with you when you travel back!!!!

    But what may be interesting would be the attitude of hotel staff if I vape in the the hotel public areas. Better to ask first, I suppose.
    Yes, unfortunately it is to be recommended that one should ask – On my journey last month I held an E-Lite e-cig in my hand as I got on the plane and it was immediately announced, that neither smoking nor the use of electronic cigarettes was permitted!!!
    (I thought, it was the PASSIVE SMOKE DAMAGE that brought us this senseless, draconian smoking ban…. There is NO PASSIVE SMOKE when vaping, is there?)

    Pubs and restaurants were no problem; there were ashtrays on the table and one or two people did “vape”.

    In the meantime I did find the cherry flavour e-cig I liked very much:

    http://www.isnoke.com/snokes.html

    What REALLY puts me off, though, is:
    Alle SNOKE® Produkte werden in Deutschland entwickelt und unter pharmazeutischer Aufsicht in Deutschland abgefüllt.
    (All Snoke products are designed in Germany and bottled under pharmaceutical supervision in Germany.)

    So I stick with the good old E-Lite. (Their nicotine-free cartridges are AWFUL, though!!!). I actually do like “vaping” more than I thought I would.

    Why would I want to pay this excessive tax on tobacco in England when the government backs the invasion of MY property?
    The tobacco I brought back will last for a while – the next bunch of visitors, bringing me tobacco, is due soon and my next journey is not too far away, either.
    I used to buy 3 50gr packs of tobacco/week, to £16.00 each. None now.

    • junican Says:

      Sometimes it is hard, mentally, to put up with the lies and exaggerations of TC – it can be depressing.
      There is not a lot that we can do, but we can minimise the extent to which we contribute to our persecution. That is something to be celebrated.
      It will get worse, but we must maintain our own integrity:
      1. We accept and do not care about the so-called dangers of enjoying tobacco.
      2. We do not accept that we damage any other people by SHS, whether adults or children.
      3. The risks in ‘third-hand smoke’ are vanishingly small.

      Each of us, in one way or another, can diminish our contributions to the persecution. But vast numbers of people are still buying ready-made cigs. The vast majority of these people do not think about what they are doing. There again, the vast majority of these people do not know about the alternatives.

      Oh…. Thanks for the good wishes. I shall be taking advantage of the price difference between the UK and Spain.

  4. George Speller Says:

    Of course if you check the highway code, where prohibition signs originated, you will see that a prohibition is an object with a red circle around it. When a diagonal stroke is added it means the prohibition is cancelled. I’m surprised nobody ever mentions this profound ignorance of symbology shown by tobacco controllers.

    _____

    • junican Says:

      It would be interesting if someone lit up and, when harangued, pointed out that the line through the sign meant that the prohibition was ended.
      I like that!

  5. beobrigitte Says:

    With more and more cities banning public smoking the electronic cigarette may be a life saver to these unhappy smokers.

    There is a little problem with that. E-cigs are banned, too.

    We have a lot of disgruntled smokers and baffled vapers. Perhaps it is time for the vapers to get disgruntled, too!

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

